Three New Governing Board Members to Be Seated in January

Editor’s Note:  The results included in this news release are based on the final, official results of the Nov. 3, 2020 General Election, posted at 3:32:49 p.m. M.S.T. on Nov. 13, 2020 of the Maricopa County Department of Elections website, and can be found on page 42.


Three New Governing Board Members to Be Seated in January


SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. (Nov. 16, 2020) – Former Desert Canyon Middle School teacher Julie Cieniawski and current District parents Libby Hart-Wells and Zachary Lindsay will join the Scottsdale Unified School District (SUSD) Governing Board in January 2021. The trio of first-time Board members will each serve a four-year term that expires in January 2025. 

The Maricopa County Elections Department has posted the following election results on its website:


# of votes cast in favor

Kathleen “Kate” Angelos


Julie Cieniawski


Lucy DiGrazia  


Libby Hart-Wells


Zach Lindsay


Rose Smith


Cieniawski, Hart-Wells and Lindsay will succeed outgoing President Allyson Beckham and Board members Sandy Kravetz and Barbara Perleberg, none of whom sought re-election this year. Beckham and Kravetz were elected in 2016 and have each served one term on the Board. Perleberg, first elected in 2012, has served twice as Board President (2017, 2018) and once as Vice President (2016) during her two terms in office. 

Board Vice President Patty Beckman and Board member Jann-Michael Greenburg are presently completing the second year of the four-year terms they won in 2018. 

The new members will officially be seated at the Board’s Jan. 5, 2021 special meeting, at which time 2021 Board officers will also be chosen. 

“I want to congratulate Ms. Cieniawski, Dr. Hart-Wells and Mr. Lindsay on their election. I look forward to collaborating with these new voices from the SUSD community and planning this exceptional public school district’s future,” says Superintendent Dr. Scott Menzel. “Great things are ahead for SUSD.” 

# # #