Board-Certified Teachers

Main Content

Scottsdale National Board Certified Teachers

NBPTS Logo - National Board for Professional Teaching Standards

What is National Board Certification?
"National Board Certification is a voluntary assessment program designed to develop, retain and recognize accomplished teachers, and to embed ongoing improvement in schools nationwide. While state teacher credentialing programs set the basic requirements to teach in each state, National Board Certified Teachers must demonstrate advanced teaching knowledge, skills and practices. Completion of National Board Certification signifies that teachers have developed and demonstrated the skills required of an accomplished education professional."  To find out more about National Board Certification you can link to their official site:

What support does SUSD provide for National Board Certification?
Scottsdale Unified School District is 3rd in the state for the number of Board Certified teachers, and we'd love to be number one.  Many supports are provided for those interested in completing their certification.  In cooperation with the Arizona K12 Center and the Scottsdale Foundation, candidates from SUSD are able to receive funding to participate in this prestigious program.  Once certified candidates receive a monetary stipend each year for the life of their certification while they're employed with SUSD. For more information, please contact Susan Leonard, NBCT at (480) 484-4900.

 For information about a Pre-Candidacy Course visit
Assisted financially by the Scottsdale Unified School District Foundation
•  Renewed in 2018
•  Renewed in 2019

Anasazi Elementary

Patricia Vassaux *
Leeann Holt
Kyle Bragg

Cherokee Elementary

Judith Droz *
Brenda Nelson 
Jill Schadt *
Laurie Jones-Ritt
Donna Sheber * 

Cocopah MS

Karen Brisbane
Tristin Miller *
Mary Pasco 
Cher Stegall *
Cathy Saraniero

Desert Canyon ES

Nancy Laak *
Curtis Robinson *
Julie Sparks
Katheryn Honeycutt

Hohokam Elementary

Jessica Valencia *
Rachel Mazzullo *
          (shared with Navajo, Pima & Pueblo)                        

Kiva Elementary

Sheila Fullerton *
Jacquelyn Oates *
Kim Keck *

Navajo Elementary

Pat Collofello
Cristi Youngkin

Redfield Elementary

Darci Aronson *
Danette Imafidon *
Megan Kraatz * 
Catherine Skinner *
Kelly Miles-Vandeheuvel *
Carrie McCulloch - Dean of Students

Tonalea K-8

Joy Funk *
Michelle Piazza *

SUSD District Leadership

Diane Murphy - Curriculum 
Jennifer Antrim - eLearning
Kelly Acridge * - Gifted Learning

Arcadia High School

Kimberly Mayorga *
Stacey Shcolnik *
Jennifer Dukelow

Cheyenne Traditional

Andrea Dersch *

Copper Ridge K-8

Nanette Hubbell
Kimberly Vallejo 

Desert Canyon MS

Kelly O'Rourke
Heather Robinson

Hopi Elementary

Diana Bode *
Allison Bosworth * 
Jennifer Fox *
Nicole Packer *
Deborah Voris

Laguna Elementary

Jennifer Bethke *
Abbey Bobbett *
Linda Graham
Debra Hawkins *
Carrie Miller 

Stephanie Shamy *
Robin Wynne *

Pima Traditional

Christina Smith
Debreah Miller

Saguaro HS

Ashley Crose *
Tammy Dias *
Amy Johnson *
Michelle Peacock

Tavan Elementary

Maureen Traynor *
Marilyn Williams


Chaparral High School

Kathleen Beder
Stephen Geislinger *
Malcolm Leinwohl
Jennifer MacColl 
Rachelle Anderson

Cochise Elementary

Tamara Andreas
Rebecca Hirschfeld
Sharon Guttell
Patricia Malley
Patti Hanlon *
Marina Rodriguez
Erin Hansen

Coronado HS

Joseph Olney - Assistant Principal

Desert Mountain HS

Laura Kamka *
Tom Roxborough 

Ingleside MS

Stacey Greene *  
Jena Krahl
Susan Leonard *
Wesley Wagner 

Mohave MS

Bert te Velde

Pueblo Elementary

Alicia Majercin • 

Sequoya Elementary

Karen Wiebel

Yavapai Elementary

Ashley Sorice *
Brianna Maxwell